Making Yogurt the staple of every sustainable/frugal Mom blog

I’ve had encouragement and advice about making yogurt for many years, from many different quarters. My friend Carol makes her batch every week and Agnes whose mother brought over her yogurt starter from Armenia and a deep yogurt history with my husband’s mentor Bob Colombosian (the Colombo yogurt GUY).

So, when I finally decided, with some trepidation, to try to make my own yogurt I found that it was almost a mom-blogosphere trope to outline experiences in making yogurt.  I am still going to forge on and do a quick post on my successful first-time yogurt making.  On round one, I think I can give up store-bought yogurt which is my daily breakfast.  Ben seems like he’s on board – our 16-year-old is not yet sold on plain yogurt – but may try with some VT honey.

I decided to make a small batch in case it was beyond eating I wouldn’t feel awful about wasting milk – a Robb Farm cardinal sin.

Things you will need:

  • Containers that you can sterilize (I used two 40oz. glass containers)
  • A big pot to boil the containers – needs to be able to hold an inch of water over containers.
  • A pot to hold the milk as it heats – something with a thick bottom so the milk won’t scald.
  • Pot holders
  • Tongs to get the containers safely out of the boiling water.
  • Cooler
  • Hot water bottle
  • Funnel for getting yogurt into containers
  • Thermometer to test milk

Ingredients:

½ gallon of whole milk

1 cup of plain whole milk yogurt (this is your “mother”) – if you keep making you can use from your last batch)

Directions:

1.  Place containers in a big pot with water – make sure they have about an inch of water covering – boil for 10 minutes – then move off heat but leave everything in the hot water until you are ready to use

IMG_3771

2. Pour milk into heavy bottomed pot – heat the milk to 185-190F

IMG_3776

3.  Place pot into a sink full of cold water – cool milk to 120F

IMG_3777

4.  Stir in the cup of yogurt starter or “mother” into the cooled milk.

IMG_3775

5.  Pour milk/yogurt mix into containers (you’ve now taken them out of the pot).

IMG_3781

6.  Place containers into a cooler (in a warm place) and put a warm water bottle on top of them.

IMG_3782

7.  Close the cooler and put your timer on for 3 hours – don’t peek this is when the magic yogurt making happens.

8.  After 3 hours put the yogurt containers in the fridge and cool. You now have homemade yogurt!

IMG_3787

I’m looking forward to my next round my yogurt panel of experts tell me that using the starter from the previous batch deepens the taste.

[Yogurt update – I’m not on my third generation and the yogurt came out well this round.   Even Mac liked it!]

Leave a Reply

